Lyna Wiggins Receives URISA Horwood Distinguished Service Award

October 27, 2005 (PARK RIDGE, IL) - Professor Lyna L.Wiggins of Rutgers University, with a long and distinguished record of leadership and contribution to URISA and the GIS community, was the recent recipient of URISA's prestigious Horwood Distinguished Service Award during the association's 43rd Annual Conference in Kansas City, Missouri.This award is URISA's ultimate award for service and leadership to URISA and the geospatial industry.

Ms.Wiggins is a Past-President of URISA and has been awarded both a URISA Leadership Award and a URISA Service Award.As a board member in the mid-1990s and president in 2000-2001, Lyna helped guide the association through difficult organizational transitions.Lyna has been and continues to be an active leader in major GIS organizations.She is a past Chair of the Education Committee of the University Consortium for Geographic Information Science, past member of the Mapping Science Committee of the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council, currently a Board member of the Geographic Information Systems Certification Institute, on the editorial board of Geospatial Solutions, section editor for the Journal of the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association, and an elected member of the Executive Committee of the New Jersey Geospatial Forum.

Professor Wiggins received a City and Regional Planning from the University of California, Berkeley in 1981, a Statistics from Stanford University in 1972, and a Mathematics from California Polytechnic State University in 1971.She taught civil engineering at Stanford University from 1981 to 1989, Urban Studies at MIT from 1989 to 1993, and is currently teaching courses in Geographic Information Science and Graphic Communication for Planners at Rutgers University, where she also recently completed a term as Department Chair and Graduate Director of the Department of Urban Planning and Policy Development.Wiggins' research interests focus on planning methods and computer applications in planning, particularly urban Geographic Information Systems and expert systems.

The Horwood Award is further recognition of her contributions and stature in the community of GIS professionals and academicians.

Horwood Distinguished Service Award History:

  • 1975 Edgar Horwood
  • 1979 Will Steger
  • 1980 Bob Aageenbrug
  • 1985 Barry Wellar
  • 1988 Jack Dangermond
  • 1991 David Moyer
  • 1993 William Craig
  • 1994 Constance Blackmon
  • 1995 William DeGroff
  • 1996 Ben Niemann
  • 1997 Ken Dueker
  • 1999 William Huxhold
  • 2001 Ed Crane
  • 2002 Mike Kevany
  • 2004 Donald Cooke
  • 2005 Lyna Wiggins

  • Published Friday, October 28th, 2005

    © 2017 Directions Media. All Rights Reserved.