The Institute of Navigation (ION) Announced Executive Committee, Council and Standing Committee Chairs


Sharing is Caring

Manassas Virginia, February 1, 2021 –The Institute of Navigation (ION) has announced its Executive Committee, Council and Standing Committee Chairs following the ION International Technical Meeting (ITM) and Precise Time Transfer and Time Interval meetings (PTTI) 2021 VIRTUAL held January 25-28, 2021. The ION Executive Committee, Council and Standing Committee Chairs will serve a 2-year term.

ION has a distinguished and passionate group of positioning, navigation and timing professionals in key positions to advance the goals of the organization.” said Lisa Beaty, Executive Director of ION.

ION Executive Committee:

•  President: Dr. Frank van Diggelen, Google

•  Executive Vice President: Dr. Sherman Lo, Stanford University

•  Treasurer: Dr. Frank van Graas, Ohio University

•  Eastern Region Vice President: Dr. Jason Rife, Tufts University

•  Western Region Vice President: Mr. Tim Murphy, The Boeing Company

•  Satellite Division Chair: Ms. Patricia Doherty, Boston College

•  Military Division Chair: Mr. John Langer, The Aerospace Corporation

•  Immediate Past President: Dr. Y. Jade Morton, University of Colorado at Boulder

 Council Members:

•  Eastern Council Member-at-Large: Dr. Seebany Datta-Barua, Illinois Institute of Technology

•  Eastern Council Member-at Large, Dr. Sanjeev Gunawardena, Air Force Institute of Technology

•  Western Council Member-at-Large: Dr. Paul McBurney, OneNav, Inc.

•  Western Council Member-at-Large: Dr. Jihye Park, Oregon State University

Technical Representatives:

•  Dr. Fabio Dovis, Politecnico Di Torino, Italy

•  Dr. Christoph Gunther, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany

•  Dr. Allison Kealy, RMIT University, Australia

•  Dr. Nobuaki Kubo, Tokyo University of Marine Science & Technology, Japan

•  Dr. Alexander Mitelman, AMM Technical Consulting

•  Dr. Madeleine Naudeau, Air Force Research Laboratory

•  Ms. Laura Norman, NovAtel, Inc., Canada

•  Dr. Joseph Rushanan, The MITRE Corporation

Standing Committee Chairs:

•  Awards Chair: Dr. Michael Meurer, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany

•  Bylaws Committee: Ms. Deborah Lawrence, Federal Aviation Administration

•  Ethics Chair: Dr. Heidi Kuusniemi, University of Vaasa & Finnish Geospatial Research Institute (FGI), Finland

•  Fellow Selection Chair: Dr. Terry Moore, United Kingdom

•  Finance Chair: Dr. Gary McGraw, Collins Aerospace

•  Meetings Chair: Mr. Jeff Martin, Spirent Federal Systems

•  Membership Chair: Dr. Okuary Osechas, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany

•  Nominating Chair: Dr. Y. Jade Morton, University of Colorado at Boulder

•  Publications Chair: Dr. Richard B. Langley, University of New Brunswick, Canada

•  Technical Committee Chairs: Dr. Sherman Lo, Stanford University

 About ION

The Institute of Navigation is a not-for-profit professional organization advancing Positioning, Navigation and Timing (PNT). The Institute is a national organization whose membership spans worldwide. Additional information about the ION can be found at

Explore more: Professional Development

Geospatial Newsletters

Keep up to date with the latest geospatial trends!

Sign up

Search DM

Get Directions Magazine delivered to you
Please enter a valid email address
Please let us know that you're not a robot by using reCAPTCHA.
Sorry, there was a problem submitting your sign up request. Please try again or email

Thank You! We'll email you to verify your address.

In order to complete the subscription process, simply check your inbox and click on the link in the email we have just sent you. If it is not there, please check your junk mail folder.

Thank you!

It looks like you're already subscribed.

If you still experience difficulties subscribing to our newsletters, please contact us at